Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

The old window

I felt a bit unsettled blipping today; it was one of those days where I felt uninspired. However, I was determined to keep shooting. As happens so frequently, this picture was part of the last batch.

In this picture you see an old window from a building next to the cranberry bog. The second floor of the building is a rented apartment. Curiously, all the windows on the ground level are open like this. An odd choice, but I imagine it is because the space is used for storage of outdoor equipment. Still, why no windows? It could not be very expensive to add and it would keep the animals out.

I chose the shot because I liked the rusted appearance of the window, the plant growing into the frame and finally the hint of something white inside the building. If you are wondering, you are seeing a white plastic tank inside the room.

Update: I actually like the way the thumbnail looks of this image and am thinking that it would look even better in B&W. I may update the image...

Photoshop:
Basic saturation and contrast on the body of the image
Brightness layer to darken the shingles
Saturation layer to reduce color tint of shingles

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.