Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

The good news is that the air mattress and sleeping bag are supremely comfortable and so I'll probably need to borrow only a pillow or two from Rogue's mum.
More packing today and significantly slower progress. Books and DVDs are so easy to put into boxes but today I have focused on the large and awkwardly-shaped stuff. I began dismantling the Alice-in-Wonderland standard lamp and then panicked about its reassembly later, so I'm very happy that I took its portrait here to help me with reassembly later. That went in with the floor fan, the iron and the desk lamp. It made sense to include the tools in that box and so first I removed the leaves of the dining table so it will get out through the door without causing damage. Silly to pack away the Winnie-the-Pooh battery drill while it is still required.
The wide-brimmed straw hat is protected by nesting safety helmets and so is incongruously in the same box as all my footwear and PPE. See if you can guess which box that is.
Beyond my flat is a half staircase leading to Flat 10, where my neighbour, Chris, took his own life in April. The flat is now up for sale I am told but I'm using that top end of the communal stairwell to store all my packed stuff. Let's just hope there are no viewings scheduled for this coming week.
Kitchen, bathroom and clothing will all be boxed up in evenings after work this coming week and then I will be dirty and smelly and eating rubbish for my final few days.
Although I have yet to receive a tenancy contract from my new letting agent, my future address has been removed from the internet and my bookmarked link to it is labelled “Let Agreed”, so I assume that rental detective, Jade, has failed to unearth my appalling previous life as a crack-dealing brothel-running debt-infested murderess.
The cat's mother is home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.