The Ferg

By fergie

Tir Fhearagain

My nearly eighty year old dad, my sixteen year old son and I headed out over some of the muddiest overgrown hill paths to the deserted township of Tireregain (english spelling) where an another one of my 3rd great Grandparents was a crofter. We started just past Fidden where my 4th great grandfather and his sons were millers in the early 18th century. A sad place once part of a lively community five or six townships linked by a track now ruined cottages in an overgrown nature reserve. the houses have views over to Jura and is near one of the most beautiful and quiet beaches I have ever seen . It was special taking my dad and my son on this difficult walk , made even more interesting for the windless sunny conditions. I ended up slightly sunburnt. Including the walk to the deserted beach the walk was about 9.3 Kms it was worth every squelch. Had a meal in a pub in Fionnphort and sat with a pint overlooking Iona and watched another mind blowing sunset. A great end to a great week on Mull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.