Next Best Thing

Got this as part of a Christmas card from a new friend whom I'd gotten to know through some online courses.  That is a really nice part of online learning -- seeing the same people across various courses and attending the classes together because you like the same subjects.  She lives in the province of Zeeland ('Zay-lant') and is a caregiver for her husband, who is of rather delicate health, so we haven't planned any meetings yet, but we both would like to meet one day.

Got one rejection email today, and Randstad called to tell me that the interview yesterday was truly fabulous, but...... I haven't been teaching for two years now and don't have any experience with online lecturing, which is what many schools are looking for.  Of course.  I am not going to change my CV, and Randstad also said I have other qualities.  I don't think they're simply flattering me, but I'm not to lose hope.

Well, I haven't lost anything.  Micky and I had a long chat in the afternoon and said that online lecturing is a pain.  She and I are from the 'old school'.  We prefer looking our students right in the eye.  I find the whole thing really amusing -- we're now the ones who are 'old school', the same term we used to apply to the older generation of teachers who taught us!

Anyway, I've rolled up my sleeves because I've decided to start on a new project, something I can do right here at home, and it involves writing 500 words a day and finishing 20 chapters at the end of the road.  Switched online learning platforms from FutureLearn to Coursera, and it is Coursera that is offering the course I need right now.  Suffice it to say that, for now, I won't be talking about it (don't want to give you spoilers), but, hopefully, there'll be news in, say, four months.  I had already began with this project years before, but other things were allowed to get in the way.  Well, now, it's back on the table and I'm hard at work.  That said, when have I not been hard at work.

Can you tell it's been foggy and damp?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.