Down at the Shore

The Edinburgh buses are running a Saturday service until 22nd January because of Covid absenteeism which means my trusty #45 which transports me more or less from door to beach in one slick ride is absent.
This means I either take 2 buses which don’t synchronise or I walk down to the east end of Princes street and catch the redoubtable #26 bus. This is what I did this morning with all my clobber in a rucksack and managed to get such an early bus that poor LeeAnne was taken by surprise at the early start but nothing phases that girl.

It was another beautiful dawn with the rising sun reflecting off house windows in Fife across the water. Unfortunately by the time we had breakfasted in the Beach Café, the allure of the promising sunny start had gone and all that was left was a damp dreich morning.

After lunch I donned my hair shirt and spent the afternoon cleaning the five windows in the turret room that used to be my space in that other life I had. The trouble is that each window is attached to a 2 ft deep window sill and all five of them contain many things of a decorative nature which have to be moved. In order to get the steps close enough to stand on the said sills to reach the top of the windows many items of storage on the floor must also be moved. I decluttered when we moved to the Dower House 11 years ago but I seem to accumulated another range of clutter.
I now have only 5 windows to go….

the blip is the ‘Ice Breaker’ being manhandled on to dry land and the extra is of the High Street with the red dawn over Porty in the distance

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.