Billboard Hits

By chicklet

Sitting in the Balcony

Eddie Cochran 1957

Today I have mostly been to the opera.

These two were among less than ten percent of the (full house) audience that I would say were under forty - made me wonder - does this mean that the appeal of opera is literally dying out? Or is it just that folks grow into it in later life?
Ticket price as a barrier to the young doesn't really fly around here as the prices are only ~£5 more than the same seats for Fame, Chicago etc and are often less than entry to a pop gig at the SECC.

I don't go often, and only to the old favourites, but ten minutes is all it takes every time to put the whole Pip Idol and Queue Factor into perspective. The voices are in a whole different stratosphere yet how many opera singers might be recognised on the street?

Thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon with me ma, once I'd managed to tune out the tone deaf hummer-along chap on my other side....he'd paid his pennies and was obviously enjoying it so I felt a bit mean mentally wishing him throat-gut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.