fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Not through the bathroom window.

In his near perfect book about The Beatles, 'Revolution In The Head', Ian MacDonald laments the point at which Lennon and McCartney stopped crafting their songs and became seduced by "random".

But the fact of the matter is that if you're doing anything creative, when you're at one of those many points where you feel you've reached the limit of your abilities, sometimes accidents and moments of chance seem far more exciting than anything you could create intentionally.

On Friday, I was going to take a photo of the field behind the cottage where I live. (I have previously referred to this field as my muse.) It was looking particularly lovely in a patch of sunlight and I thought I'd grab a shot as a candidate for the day's Blipfoto.

I put the camera on the window sill and turned it on. As the lens extended the camera tilted forward and this was the view on the display. On the spur of the moment I took the shot before opening the window to take a few photos of the field.

However, when I came to review the day's photos I kept going back to this one. I like the contrast of the window sill with the towel and the old plugs out of focus at the back. So, this is it, my photo of the day. I'm not comparing it with The Beatles but I like it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.