IrvingFlashman

By IrvingFlashman

Was today real?

I met Caitlin Moran. I almost cried. She signed my journal, she gave me a big, real hug and was wonderful. Then I met Grace Dent. She was amazing. She signed my journal. I cannot believe it actually happened.

I love those two women so much. Molly and I sat in a Chapel, with her family, listening to Grace Dent be interviewed for an hour. We were sat tinglingly close to Caitlin Moran, I had to fight my neck the whole time to stop myself from turning around and staring.
Through reading and listening to these women I am more convinced than ever that you needn't be Privately Educated or offensively well spoken in order to write. There is a place for women to speak openly, candidly and to do it in a humorous way too. That is exactly what I want to do. To be a columnist, a writer, to tell people loudly what I think and want to do is a dream for me. I cannot wait to graduate and have the time to read and write and push myself onwards into something amazing. I know that very few people make it to a large audience and that you need something special, but I am utterly convinced that I am willing to try.

I stared at this page in my journal a for a little while before getting into bed. There are pictures....somewhere.

Also, all of this took place in Laugharne which is too beautiful for words.
And there was wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.