The Tree

... and the galleon (in the extras).

These were purchased in the late 70's by SWMBO's father when he and the Wicked Witch stayed in Canada.
They are acid treated copper which are then etched.
I believe they weren't cheap - but they were bought from the artist so they were cheaper than if they had been in a shop.
When SWMBO's father was coming towards the end of his life in Dunbar  I made comment that I still liked them (we had said as much in 1980 when we visited them) and he insisted that we have them.
I think the Wicked Witch was spitting blood at that.

Today the Yew bowl ended up in 3 pieces - after I hit it with a hammer.
I did it after it had left the lathe once too often and to prevent me being stupid enough to try again to do something with it.
I then took the grinder apart and cleaned out the water bath (which was dryish) of the metal sludge followed by having another go at the bandsaw. It would appear that the blade is not running straight because a guide bearing is very badly worn and not running true. I am unable to track down a replacement which is a bit of a shame as it is really annoying to get rid of something that is basically functioning for the want of a part worth a couple of pounds.
I will speak to a mate of mine who may have the skills to do something about it in which case he can have it (my grumblings have resulted in SWMBO ordering a new bandsaw).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.