NOT A KILLDEER ..... BUT CLOSE

Not a good photo but this is the only one I could put on for my journal today. It is of a Lapwing and two Little-ringed Plovers at Alston Wetlands in Lancashire. It is not a photograph of the Killdeer, a great rarity, which had flown off shortly before I took this. But ...... we got there in time and saw it, a Lifer! The Twitcher is a happy man.

There are also Blackbirds nesting in the conifer, the trunk now barricaded against the cat, 18 Siskins on the feeders, 2 Pied Wagtails on the lawn and a Long-tailed Tit flitting about. All is right in the birding world.

Though I feel sorry for all the people who were still turning up to see the Killdeer after it had flow up and away as it hasn't been seen since. Though one of them was the particularly obnoxious man who shoved me out of the way on a birding trip last year. I don't give a hoot about him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.