WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

A Lazy Sunday

I baked mixed fruit and cherry scones :-b
Researched planting Witch Hazel and Dogwood together, think I’ve got it now.
It started off a bright blue sky day but went dull after lunch and now it’s raining and storm Corrie is blustering down the chimney.
Wrote my poem about my life when I was about 13-14 years old.
Here’s a link to Britains Floral Garden in case you don’t know about it. It was my favourite toy - after my dolls - and I spent many a happy time designing gardens. They sell on eBay for quite a lot these days.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lot-28-Vintage-Britains-Floral-Garden-Mixed-large-quantity-of-accessories-/255355098282?mkcid=16&mkevt=1&_trksid=p2349624.m2548.l6249&mkrid=710-127635-2958-0
I only have the tiny lawnmower left. I’ve always loved anything miniature.

30/365
I Come From…

…bunking off school with a tummy ache, then
Polishing Mum’s teak sideboard and dining table
‘That tummy aches worn off pretty quick! 
‘Don’t think you can sit about all day doin’ nothing’.
Afternoon tea - with a table cloth - on a Sunday
Hovis, Dairylee, ham, tomatoes, tinned pears and evap
And, ‘No milk bottle on the table in this house!’
Waiting in the pub car park with Mum and siblings
While Dad nipped in for a swift pint and a half and 
Hoping he’d bring us out crisps and lemonade.
Mum’s laughter and her singing ‘Que Sera, Sera…’
The whirring of her Singer as she made our clothes.
Being sent to Reece’s for a pound of broken biscuits
Dunking them, one after another in hot, sweet tea.
Landscaping in miniature with ‘Britains Floral Garden’ 
Buying new tiny bits each week with pocket money.
Lettuce and tomato butties on a blanket on the lawn
Heinz Salad Cream oozing out all down my chin.
Listening to records in a freezing cold bedroom
‘You can put another bar - on just for half an hour!’
Watching Top of the Pops on a Thursday night,
The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Herd, The Move
‘Call that Music?’ ‘Look at their long hair, what a state!’
That was my family life in the 60’s, not perfect but happy.

Last night we watched ‘Ghosts’ a very entertaining comedy drama series
and then we started watching ‘Around the World in 80 days’ - excellent so going to watch more now.

Goodnight Blippers :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.