Landline

MonoMonday's theme this week: "Time Capsule - MM419 - What would you put in a time capsule today that will be interesting to people in 20 years time?"  There are people nowadays who can't believe that we still have a landline, so I imagine that it might be inconceivable to someone 20 years from now that people actually needed one! We often get strange looks or hear the amazement in people's voices on the phone when we tell them that we don't have cell phone service at home and spotty service in many places on the island. It's amazing how many services assume that everyone has 24/7 access to cell phones, computers, the internet, and that those who do are skilled at using them. I'm glad that my work required me to be pretty tech-savvy and I can figure out quite a bit myself, but I know people who struggle. I wonder how technology is going to change in the next 20 years. I'm assuming I'll still be around to satisfy my curiosity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.