Miss Hannah Revisited

Today's image is of our garden statue Miss Hannah. She has been the subject of a previous blip (26th September 2020) but on that occasion I took her photo through a garden chair. I feel this was a bit of an indignity for her so this time I have gone for a full head and shoulders portrait to do her more justice.
We bought her for our mum and I know she used to bring a smile to her face. I used to go up to the top of the garden for a chat with her every now and again (if Prince Charles can talk to plants...oh hang on, plants are living things and not stone statues!) and I feel very neglectful for ignoring her for so long.

Today was a waiting around day. My car Nigella (all my previous cars have had names - including Marge The Barge, Gordon Nicholas Francis, Clive and Dennis The Metro) had to go in for a full service and m.o.t. For some reason this always makes me feel nervous - it's like putting your car in for an exam and it will reflect badly on you if it fails. They said they would need most of the day so I couldn't really venture out until they called me back. 
Nigella is actually in quite good nick for her age (she's eleven now) so when the garage rang back in the afternoon they confirmed she passed her m.o.t but they recommended both headlights were replaced due to condensation problems. They only had one replacement headlight in stock so when I got her back she looked a bit odd - one clear eye and one cloudy one. It wasn't exactly cheap either - the service, m.o.t and new headlight were north of £500. Ouch!

After spending all that money I needed a good sit down, some relaxing TV and a glass of wine. I must admit I'm a cat person but I love "The Dog House" on Channel 4.
The show is baed at Wood Green, the animals charity in Cambridgeshire that takes in hundreds of disowned or neglected dogs every year. It follows the work of the dedicated staff members who are committed to match abandoned dogs with loving owners - a bit like a dog dating show where people and dogs are matched and hopefully fall in love. 
In this particular episode they were able to match Patch, a border collie, with Megan (a young woman who had landed her dream job working with horses but was living away from home for the first time and felt rather anxious and lonely), match Pebbles, a Lhasa, with David (an ex-paralympian and workaholic who was having trouble adjusting to competitive retirement) and match Shane (who she renamed Sherlock), an American Bulldog, with Lisa (who'd had previous troubled and violent relationships with some of her partners). Such feel good telly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.