Man About The House

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

It was El Jefe's birthday today. He only told us this yesterday. He sort of sighed and said, "Guess who turns forty tomorrow...?"

He was joking. He is only five years younger than me. I am not forty-five.

He claimed he does not celebrate birthdays. But really. I mean. Let's face it. Who sighs and claims they don't celebrate birthdays ONE DAY BEFORE THEIR BIRTHDAY?

It was a birthday cry for help, is what I am hearing. And so I mounted my white charger* and rode in to the rescue, organising a card and after-work drinks in double-quick time.

I am very proud of myself.

So today Jefe came to work to a card, a cake and a USB stick full of gangster movies. 

It was just he and I in the office today, still trying to get the Surface Hub to work as we'd like. I mean. Don't get me wrong. It switches on and does the thing, but not EXACTLY as Jefe would like. 

I have tried explaining it to him that merely turning on and doing stuff is enough for government ministers who will probably run around the room giggling just because the camera comes on. 

But he has standards I do not understand at all. 

Anyway. We had fun and the fun continued when we left the office to meet Manda and Manda's friend Jade. 

Jade is actually their live-in landlady. I asked them about "living arrangements" which I thought was a perfectly reasonable question in terms of who gets the kitchen and who is in charge of the telly and such. But Jade chose to misinterpret this as me alluding to kinky four-in-a-bed sexploits and kept mentioning their swinging lifestyle all night. 

Maybe my accent just has built-in innuendo. I AM British, after all. Perhaps I make everything sound saucy as if Jefe is Robin Tripp and Manda and Jade are Jo and Chrissy**.

Regardless of my lewd faux pas, we had a lot of fun. Shenée and Craig met us briefly for a drink before heading off back to their horses and chickens. After this Manda led us to a cocktail bar and a Vietnamese restaurant before we took a lovely twilight walk back to the train station.

I had a good night. I may have agreed to work with Jefe on our own short horror movie. I'm not sure. There were cocktails. I think Manda is starring. 

Anyway, I got home at about 10:30 to find Caro relaxing with cats. It sounded like she had enjoyed her day too and took this picture of Dave clambering about in the backyard. I have seen him climb our tree before, but it is cute to see him right in there. 

All the same, I have missed Caro this week. I was looking forward to spending tomorrow at home with her. But that EFFING Surface Hub is still not working to Jefe's satisfaction.

To be continued...

S.

* Don't be rude.

** Ahhhh, Paula Wilcox. I was in love with her, you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.