Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Bad Timing

08/04/2013 7:22 AM

Hi Longershanks,

Yesterday I started to feel there was something wrong with my left eye (my good eye) and late last night I ended up at QEII - there was nobody there that could check the eye out, but they've made an appointment for me at Moorfields Eye Hospital for this morning. Just heading down there now. I believe it's a detaching retina, I'm just hoping that it's early enough for the outcome to be better than it was in 2003 for the right eye.

Mum & I'll keep you updated.

Dad

08 April 2013 11:51


Hi Longershanks,

Just had Dad on the phone. His retina is detached, but the back of the eye is still flat, which suggests it's more of a tear than a detachment. We think that's good news. He's going to be operated on at 6 o'clock tonight, and had the option to come home this evening, but as he has to be examined tomorrow morning he has decided to stay in overnight. Also thinks he'll be fine to get home on his own, so we'll see him at the station tomorrow. Not sure if we'll get any news from the hospital tonight, but if we do we'll let you know.

xxx

08 April 2013 20:56


Hi Longershanks,

We've just spoken to Dad. He's had his op and the surgeon is pleased with the way things went. It was more of a tear than a detachment, so Dad's hopeful that his sight won't be too badly affected. He's having to keep facing downwards at the moment - lying on his front - but is to sleep on his side. He had been sick, though he thinks that may have had to do with lying on his front. Anyway, hopefully he'll be back home tomorrow and maybe we'll get a skype if he feels like it and it's convenient for you.

xxx


So this being a backblip I can confirm all went well and I'm back home. Don't actually know how well as the eye has a gas bubble in it to help with the healing process to ensure the retina remains flat to the back of the eye, but it's certainly going to be better than some of the scenarios I envisaged.

The blip is titled bad timing because Longershanks is returning to the UK this weekend. It'll be the first time we've seen him since September 2010 and we'll be meeting Diana & Lorenzo for the first time. So me having to take it easy and only having restricted vision isn't great timing. Mind you it could have happened last month when we were in the wilds of Norway - that'd have been interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.