Sister Wives

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

Today was another extended family day for Project Gromit.

I arranged to meet Fazzy so that she and Caro and I could go to see "Death on the Nile". I explained that Caro LOVES murder mysteries* and Fazzy has not seen an adult film at the cinema for five years.

"What sort of film you think this is?" I said.
"Take your mind out of the gutter Symon," she responded.

So Fazzy was VERY excited. So excited that she invited Caro and me round to hers for lunch first. Which made ME very excited as I love Shahier's cooking. We got the usual warm welcome there, big hugs from everyone and yes delicious chicken with potatoes in cheese sauce from Shahier. I asked if he felt like he was missing out.

"I really only like Marvel and DC movies," he said.

So now he and I have a hot date for "The Batman" when it comes out next month. And FAZZY can stay home and babysit.

When we got to the cinema more members of the whānau arrived in the form of Manda and Jeff and Corrie and Siu. It warms my cockles to know that we like hanging out with each other outside work. 

The film itself was very enjoyable, although I'll never like it as much as the Peter Ustinov version because of Peter Ustinov. It looks great though, and everyone had fun guessing the murderer**.

Afterward the others had weekend things to do and we all split up, except Fazzy who accepted my offer to hang out and get a coffee. I like it when Caro and Fazzy are together. I sense a meeting of minds and they crack each other up. It makes me happy just to listen to the chat. 

Even if most of the time my work-wife and my actual-wife spend their time taking the piss out of me, I might add.

So we had a lovely afternoon together, which only ended when the coffee shop closed up and Fazzy went back to her family. But we promised to meet up again soon. And of course, I'll be seeing EVERYONE again at work this week.

I used to have such a clear delineation between work and home life. I love how it's all blending and blurring together these days.

S.

* Consequently, we've seen all versions of this story several times and know who did it, but this does not matter. 

** Except us, obviously. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.