Living my dream

By Mima

More home: the new cabin

It took me several months to research suitable builders, get quotes, agree the design and commission the build of the new cabin. It was a big chunk of money (in my world) so I needed to get it right.

I ended up with a builder local enough that I could drop into his yard from time to time to see progress and discuss any outstanding issues. And the proximity kept the haulage cost to a minimum.

It arrived in June 2019 on the back of a HIAB truck. I could barely watch as it was craned onto its foundation, but of course it went without a hitch.

After painting the plywood walls (and discovering in the process that there about 200 different shades of white - who knew?) built shelves, got electricity and a satellite dish hooked up, it was ready to be my new bedroom.

Outside I put some small raised beds and planted a lemon and a jasmine, to provide scent on warm evenings. Plans to build a large deck have remained in my head and not on the ground. The temporary one works fine for now…

The cabin is filled with the sun’s warmth in winter and remains cool in summer thanks to the veranda roof and good insulation. There is a small woodburner which works a treat in the coldest weather.

It’s the most wonderful place to relax and sleep…my favourite ever bedroom.

That concludes the tour of the living areas. Next we move on to the production zone…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.