Family History

Today I came across this photo of my maternal greatgrandparents and 3 of their children. My great grandfather born in 1851 was a tin miner from Cambourne in Cornwall. He then trained as a Metodist minister and emigrated to New Zealand in 1875. This was his second marriage.There were 7 children from his first marriage and 4 from his second. The younger of my two great aunties was not born at this stage. My grandfather, the oldest child, is the taller of the two boys. He was born in 1899 so I think that this photo may be taken around 1907. My great grandfather died in 1917 and my much younger great grandmother died in 1944. Sadly, I never knew my grandfather as he died suddenly from a brain hemorrhage in January 1955 aged 55 when I was just 13 months old. His brother and two sisters lived to a very old age and I knew them all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.