Igor

By Igor

a hard rain's gonna fall

I've been wondering for a while what ODN stands for.  Should have guessed that uncle Wiki would know.

ODN - Ordnance Datum Newlyn - is the mean sea level originally recorded at Newlyn in Cornwall between 1915 and 1921.  So know you know.

I'm interested because I snapped this very gauge last week (see extra).  At first I wondered why it had been necessary to add a second scale.  The difference in level today is down to last night's rain.  

With Storms Dudley and Eunice on their way I assume the original is going to disappear below the water line in the next couple of days.  It's not often that you see a metric in the middle of a small town in the middle of the country that suggests that mean sea levels have risen in the past 100 years or so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.