Is it Dinnertime Yet?

Today I felt that some serious dust/spiderweb/dog hair removal was called for. With all the construction going on around us, it's a losing battle, but it becomes especially necessary when the sun shines through the windows and illuminates the extent of it. There are shortages of lumber, garage doors, avocados and coins, so we're told. Things have definitely come to a halt in construction on either side of us since the foundations were poured. It might be lack of lumber causing the delay, but there are a myriad of other reasons why it might be so. 

My brother and his wife are arriving tomorrow for a short visit, so we decided that John should try out the new shower. I'm not sure why David installed it so high up that I can barely reach it, so John was elected. We will both be using it in a couple of weeks when renovations begin on our bathroom. No sooner had John figured out how to turn on the shower than I heard an ominous crashing, not of his body but of a glass soap dish dubiously placed on a ledge. I pointed out the shower gel placed on a higher ledge but then felt obliged to observe the whole operation for myself. Adjustments were made to keep the water confined to the area behind the glass and not all over the floor. Towels and a squeegee were  provided. It all makes me wonder if a guests' users' manual will be necessary. The glass soap dish didn't break but was still removed for safety reasons.

John paid his final visit to the podiatric surgeon today who pronounced his leg totally healed from the break almost a year ago. A lot has happened in that year although it sometimes feels like nothing happened. I feel that Covid restrictions have changed life as we knew it forever. It is hard to predict what form those changes will take going forward because there's so much nobody knows....Mask restrictions were lifted in most indoor settings today, but I think I will continue to wear mine until I see what happens. 

We probably could have saved a lot of lives if we hadn't let decisions devolve to the states. Covid doesn't respect state lines, but governors  are much more affected by politics than by science. I feel that what we still need is national guidance to assist more local governments. Unfortunately that didn't happen at the beginning and there were too many opinions and mixed messages for state and local governments to design consistent policies.  Now, the Omicron transmission rate is going down, but is still quite high, and the CDC can't even decide on a dosage for the vaccination of children 5 and under. And the vaccination rate for the 6 to 15s is only about 20%.

I realize its  easy to take this stand when I don't have to go to work, raise children or worry about having a job, but perhaps the economic fallout would have been less if there had been more consistent policies earlier on.

And now I must move on to worrying about a Russian invasion of  Ukraine. And to what the response of the rest of the world will be. I feel like we have all been down this path before, but I don't feel that anyone has come up with any real answers. Especially with such a devious character as Putin....

It's obvious that I listened to the news as I was mopping floors and dusting furniture today...something I generally try to avoid for obvious reasons. There are no answers. Only more questions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.