Passing by and around

Sutures out today. Mostly stayed at home, otherwise. However, I did go to see daughter J, and on the way back I investigated a park we pass. Not that the park can be seen from the road. Once through the tree lined and curving entry, there was a large open space, the home of the Glen Eden Athletic Club. It seems likely that other sports get played on the large field. 

Below the club rooms is a sloping grassed area with playground equipment, and a skateboard path, enjoyed by children on bikes as well. A sign indicated that there is a Twin Streams path. So I investigated. 

The first bridge across a stream took me very quickly into a street, where a sign pointing the way I had come was the way I wanted to go. Which is when I went up onto the large flat sports field. At which point I saw the steps leading down to a path beside the stream which I had earlier crossed, and then recrossed.

A sign indicated to me that this area has been named Okaurirahi by Te Kawerau a Maki, mana whenua of Hikurangi (West Auckland) for over 400 years. Okaurirahi means "the place of huge Kauri". In pre-colonial times, this was the site of a mature Kauri forest. Trees as old as Tane Mahuta (in Waipoua Forest) provided protection for younger Kauri, and many other species; both plant and bird.

The well formed path I had the privilege to use, protects trees to the sides of the path and often in the centre of the path, and the path goes around them; one such is seen in my photo. All the while the soft murmur of the stream (some 3 metres below the path at times), was a calming accompaniment to my walk.

Perhaps because I was walking there at a time not long after school ended for the day, and school children were walking homewards along this path, there was little birdsong. As I returned to by the clubhouse, I could hear the call of the Riroriro , the Grey Warbler. This tiny bird is hard to spot, even when heard like today, and even harder to photograph.

A very pleasant half hour walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.