Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Goldie

Back in November I managed my first ever shot of a goldcrest.  The only trouble was the bird tilted its head so the gold crest running up between its eyes wasn't visible.  I said I'd try again, and here you are: at least a quarter of the crest is here for all to see ;)))  Well, it's a bit of an advance.

This morning we woke to clear blue skies so I got out early.  No sparrowhawks to be seen in the reserve, but I met up with a nice lady called Sheila who I'd talked to last year when the hawks were around.  Together we saw a loudly singing thrush, treecreeper, great tits and where they're thinking of nesting this year, my favourite robin and a huge old willow tree that Storm Eunice had smashed through near the top of the trunk - it's whole topknot is now in the river, an extraordinary sight.  And of course I saw the goldcrest.

So that's the excitment of my day.  The rest has been gentle and peaceful.  Hope none of you have had too many Eunice disasters to recover from - take care  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.