Moss reproduction

One of the things about taking a photo and then choosing it as my daily blip is that I want to know what I am looking at.

So I know this is a moss. And I have now learnt a little about moss reproduction. These little structures are sporophytes, a result of sexual reproduction (mosses can also reproduce asexually). The male mosses produce sperm, and as long as there is water around these will then swim towards a female plant and fertilise it. The sporophyte is the result, and depending on the species each of these capsules contains between 4 and 1 million spores.

A brief visit to Risley Moss. There are many fallen trees, and the wet woodland is now a much wetter woodland.

During my visit I had a phone call, one of several this afternoon. My mum is returning home from hospital today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.