Journies at home

By journiesathome

Because I'm happy

Gabin arrived this evening with his trousseau of board games, books, little pots of yogurts, boots, coats and a suitcase full of beautifully folded clothes which gave me a pang of maternal guilt because I felt sure I'd just dumped random items of clothing in a plastic bag for my own children whenever they went away without me.  I boosted my dwindling self confidence with the thought that those occasions had been rare and I wasn't a bad mother, but was knocked back again on remembering that both my children were currently in Ireland and I hadn't even overseen Mu's suitcase packing.  I then reminded myself that Mu was eighteen and she and Gab were legitimately staying/living with their Da.
It's emotionally hard work being a mother.
Gabin had a bucket shower and was introduced to the pleasure of drying his bits by the fire.  We made a boat for him by pushing the two sofas together and allowed him to indulge in an extended bout of cartoons.  
A good step-grandmother would have been playing board games and reading books to him, but hey.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.