Above Jordan Pond

Beneath thinning ice
our Spring Giant awakens,
low borborygmus 
of his hunger echoing
between the granite mountains.


We walked the Loop Road above Jordan Pond and were treated to the awe inspiring sounds of the ice expanding, contracting, and drifting against the shore. The area is like a large bowl (or technically more like a scoop, with one side lower than the rest), and without summer growth to help absorb the noise it bounces back and forth as it fades away. Such a perfect day to be there, and not another soul to be seen. One of today's extras sets the scene.

There were also plenty of opportunities to take photos of water and ice, and fortunately my companion was very patient with me as I kept stopping. I recently bought a selfie stick at Goodwill for $3 thinking I could use it to take photos of odd angles and hard to reach places. The other extra is my first attempt - I held my phone right down at the edge of a small brook to peek under the ice at the water flowing below. The image was a big hit at home so I've included it. 

The main photo was taken at about the same location, just looking down. I couldn't help messing around with it some for Abstract Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.