Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Having our cake…

…and eating it!

I’m in Manchester at M’s place this weekend. After the recent storms it’s nice to have a bit of sun to enjoy and a hint of spring in the air.

Last weekend we tried to check out a new-ish bakery just a short stroll from M’s house but we arrived a frustrating five minutes after it closed! This weekend we were determined not to make that mistake again and we arrived in plenty of time to select some freshly baked delights from Long Boi’s Bakehouse. We received a lovely warm welcome from Sharon and her colleagues and, needless to say, the cakes were absolutely delicious! We will be back!

Today’s first tune is Eileen Barton with the classic ‘If I Knew You Were Comin’ I’d’ve Baked a Cake’ https://youtube.com/watch?v=3fJjO1N39KI

But I also want to play ‘Diaspora’ by The Ukranians https://youtube.com/watch?v=qEenfJk2sDo as some sort of acknowledgment of the horrors going on in Ukraine right now. One of my great, great grandfathers came from Lviv and so I feel a connection with that part of the world, although I have never been there. Perhaps I never will, but I hope that - with the support of the rest of the world - the people of Ukraine will overcome this invasion and that peace will prevail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.