Future Reflection of Past

By nano

About a mug and a bear.

I have this mug, which bears the phrases of the National Anthem of Yorkshire.

Wanting to know more about it's history, I found this summarised lyrics:

Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee, ah saw thee?
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee, ah saw thee?
Wheear 'ast tha bin sin' ah saw thee?
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
On Ilkla Mooar baht 'at
Tha's been a cooartin' Mary Jane
Tha's bahn' to catch thy deeath o` cowd
Then us'll ha' to bury thee
Then t'worms'll come an` eyt thee up
Then t'ducks'll come an` eyt up t'worms
Then us'll go an` eyt up t'ducks
Then us'll all ha' etten thee
That's wheear we get us ooan back

Also found the whole anthem and it's translation :-).

It's made by Crown Devon Fieldings and has a registration number (2450).
No idea about the value, if any.

Almost 60 years ago, Friends from York visited my grand parents, and gave them this mug. For me, as a baby, they brought a real English teddybear (no idea about specific origin or brand), which I cuddled until it was totally worn and bare. It got lost out of sight somewhere in my teenage years.

My father inherited the mug from my grandparents, and so again did I, when my father passed away. This revived the story of the long lost and dearest bear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.