NinjaShoe

By NinjaShoe

Before I was born

On 23rd May 1960 my Grandpa (Alderman George Frederick Holden ) was made Mayor of Oldham for 2 years. Nancy his wife (known to me as Nanny) became Mayoress.

During that time the "Oldham Chronicle" took loads of picture of the Mayor and the Mayoress doing goodly deeds, visiting old people, entertaining in the parlour, presenting prizes and smiling for the camera, that sort of thing.

I never knew my Grandpa as he died the same year I was born, but I knew and loved Nancy (Nanny), my Mum's Mum fiercely.

When cousin Pip visited she brought this photo album to show me, passed down to her eldest child Shirley, and which Pip has now. Pip accidently left it behind and I have been fascinated to look through it at my leisure.

It is an astounding historical read, and for me quite an emotional one. Nanny has pasted the newspaper clippings on the back of each photo and/or annotated them with the date & comments. The newspaper clipping on the back of this photo begins...

"Two birthday surprises for Mayor and Mayoress"
A double birthday presentation marked the Mayor's first youth reception held at the Town Hall on Saturday night. Unknown to the Mayor (Alderman G.F Holden), Mrs Bob Watt the Oldham Youth Organiser had discovered it was the Mayor's birthday and as a surprise an inscribed lighter was presented to him by the Chairman of the Youth Council, 19 year old Vincent Hall. The Mayoress whose birthday was the previous day was presented with a bouquet by the deputy chairman Jean Varley....


A few more pictures here that are also typical - but I chose this one as that is my mum on the far right, and sister Shirley next to her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.