Hellcat - news and views

By hellcat2009

Celebrations in Camden

A day trip to London for a friend's birthday today, a whole bunch of us, old Uni friends and others, gathering in a pub for drinks and a catch up while the match is on.

Normally I might have ducked out of this one on account of the distance and increased tiredness due to my pregnancy, but I really wanted to be there today. My friend was diagnosed with terminal cancer last year, and his recent scans show it is progressing rapidly, despite treatment. A genuinely lovely guy, married to another of my close friends (they got together at uni) and a father of 3. He may have only weeks left, and it seems inevitable that this will be our last chance to celebrate his birthday with him. Words just aren't enough sometimes.
Despite the sad news of last week It was a great afternoon full of smiles and laughter, chatting and catching up with people not seen for a while. Quite a few people had travelled far and wide to be there. N and I left the pub about 8.30pm and got home around 1am. An exhausting day but so glad we did it!


*Apologies for the very poor image - I captured this on my iphone and it was the best of a bad bunch for today :( It is a very blurry tube map...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.