It's been a while since this boy has been out, just cos I've been so busy. He was very stiff and slow on the way out but as soon as we hit the field he took off in canter, cheeky boy. 

I got the arc equine on Jack again so he didn't go out till lunchtime. Lime had a clip this morning to make him a bit more comfortable in the warmer weather then both him and Buddy had the farrier. Price has gone up again to £90 a set!!! So after the other week when Buddy went hunting with a missing back shoe and hammered down the road with no ill effects to his hoof at all, I've decided to take his back shoes off. He's got rock hard feet so I think he'll be fine. If not we can always whack his shoes back on. 

This evening I found the reason for Jack's swollen leg. He has a horrible patch of mud fever. I can't believe I missed it - it's right up on the groove of his pastern/fetlock and every time I went to check his leg he would lift it up so the angle of his leg meant this patch was hidden. I only noticed it tonight because Toby led him in from the field and I was walking behind and saw a red patch of skin. It's very sore bless him. But it's at least easier to resolve than swollen tendons and ligaments. I've clipped away all the hair and hibiscrubbed it and will put some barrier cream on it before he goes out tomorrow. I need to speak to the yard owner about sorting out his gateway as well as the water from the surrounding fields seems to drain into his gateway so it's very boggy. Feel so bad that I missed it and it looks so sore. He was very reluctant for me to touch it so I had to get someone to hold his leg up whilst I dealt with it. 

Finished the day with a family dog walk which we've not been able to do in a while. The dogs get extra excited when we go together, especially Flora! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.