Twientigveertien

By Mimi

On the Banana River

Not sure why its called that but today I decided to stay dry and take my lunch on the other side of work - river side! I work is located on a Barrier Island . 5 minutes West is the Ocean , North a few hrs drive you have Miami, East is the rivers and a couple of hours further Tampa; North from here is Cape Canaveral which is part of the same AF Base I work on ( Patrick Air Force Base ), further North you have Jacksonville. So much to see and school couldn't keep it to one shot! Driftwood is plenty here as you can see - you can grab an entire tree if you like! Birds everywhere - these young Ospreys were taking a break; along the river it's not unusable to find horseshoe crabs. Very pre- historic and actual they are as old as the dinosaurs 450 some million years old. Learned that they belong to the spider species not the crabs. I took this one with me as it was dead. Today was 35* , too early to get that hot yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.