Windmill 'De Speelman', Overschie, Rotterdam

'Speelman' is a surname.  Ownership of this mill had passed on from father to son through a number of generations, so it was eventually named after them.  It was built in 1712 and it's original name was... De Hoop.  One day I should take time to count how many windmills are called 'De Hoop'.  I'll include only the existing ones.  This particular mill needs a thorough renovation, and, according to the database info, it won't be allowed to turn till the makeover is done.  When that will start makes for a good guess.  Standing still is never good for Dutch windmills -- no 160000 turns a year means no subsidy.  Financing will have to come from the private sector or maybe the local government -- Rotterdam.  And that city, like many others, has other priorities at the moment.

I'd had my eye on this windmill for quite a while as it is relatively 'close to home'.  Many won't see it that way, but a radius of 50 to 100 km. is 'close to home' according to my definition, having driven much, much further than that for my work.  Gone are the days when I used to drive 1300 km. a week, literally to the far ends of the country, to teach.  Those long drives gave me so many ideas and provided me with good opportunities for reflection and meditation, and Carmela used to listen patiently to my soliloquies and rants.  I miss my orange carriage.

Today, my thoughts went back to Monday's talk with KitKat.  The way I feel now... does this mean I never want to speak in the other language ever again?  No, but it does mean that I will use it most likely only when I am physically there, as a tourist.  If I ever go there again, which isn't in the plans right now.  And if I do, I will most likely really go as a tourist, with or without AW, which means keeping myself free of social obligations (the Viking is a possible exception).  Does this mean I'm angry and hurt?  No.  It only means I'll be happy and free, which is the way I have been feeling lately, anyway, COVID and the war notwithstanding.  The maxim about travelling light has never been more applicable than today.  Indeed, my heart and mind should be as light as my luggage.

It appears that we will be having fine weather for a whole week.  There will be some clouds (such is life) but nothing significant.  Something to look forward to.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.