zebra

By zebra

Barber shop

Every two weeks or so I visit this place. Ahhhh! Being white in Africa is only complicated now and then and hair is one of them. Although I now get a buzz cut and could technically go to any kinyozi I used to have to seek out people who could handle this kind of hair and more often than not it led me into the Indian community for which I am ever grateful.

Sailesh was hired by another barber and was brought in to Kenya from India and could hardly speak a word of English. But he could cut hair and, shock on me, gave an awesome head massage at the end of the cut. I mean, it doesn't get any better than that! Apparently this is not something new for Indians but to this small town white boy it was amazing.

So over the years I have seen him open his own shop, go to India to marry a beautiful woman and make a family of their own. His English is now much better and his business is booming.

I took the shot as he went to get oil for the head massage. It is pretty typical as far as shops go except for the wooden box which holds a coconut, some photos of his gods and the place where he burns incense. I have spent quite a few mornings in a haze as the sticks burn away. I actually quite like the smell. One day you will see my friend. Today, however, all you can do is think about how relaxing it would be if someone gave you a head massage! Ahhhh

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.