The 'Poldersche Molen', Maasdam

The windmill in the polder.  Couldn't be more apt than that.
You might sometimes wonder what a polder really is.  According to the Dutch dictionary, and I translate:  'low-lying reclaimed land, often closed in by dikes where the water level is regulated by a system of sluice gates and 'dikers' (people with the specific function of maintaining the dikes)'.  The dictionary also clarifies this description as applicable to the whole of The Netherlands.

I could have walked to the mill, actually, and I was thankfully able to zoom in from where I stood, but between the spot where I was standing to the mill itself was a wide field which had just been sprayed with natural fertilizer and I was not in any mood to get that muck on my boots and into the car and later into the house.  There was an opening in the fence in front of me but a part of the fence had electricity.  Behind me was a farm but I couldn't find anyone to ask permission from, so I just left it as it was.  I was very thankful for the panoramic opportunity, with no obstruction and no need to 'squeeze' on a narrow dike.

A beautiful day for the 100th windmill in Zuid-Holland, completing a grand total of 230 windmills since the start of this photography project.  Of course, I am not done yet.
Noord Brabant = 94
Zuid-Holland = 100
Limburg = 11
Zeeland = 14
Utrecht = 7
Gelderland = 1
Noord-Holland = 1
Overijssel = 1
GERMANY = 1

Gaming... housework... but the best part was sitting with AW on our terrace enjoying the warmth from the afternoon sun under a cloudless sky, and feeling as though I was on holiday, the weight of so many, many things finally off my shoulders.  I could get used to this.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.