Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Glossy Ibis & T171

Joined some friends on an organised bird watching trip to Gloucestershire and met up with fellow blipper, Ann, at a pub close to Slimbridge Wetland Centre. I first met Ann online when we were both doing the Open University course T171. This was many, many years ago and whilst we have known each other on Blipfoto and Facebook, this is the first time we have seen each other in real life. 
 
On arrival at Slimbridge, I had a quick look in the first hide and told the group that I would catch up with them later. I walked down to the canal and pub to meet Ann, but on the way down scanned the fields for birds. I couldn't be more surprised to notice a Glossy Ibis not 15 feet away from me behind a farm gate! I sent a text to the group and they too came out of Slimbridge to see the bird,  but by then I had taken my photos and gone off to meet Ann for a coffee.
 

It was lovely to see both Ann and a Glossy Ibis at more or less the same time. A wonderful day. :-) Thanks, Ann for coming to meet me. 

These birds usually live in the Mediterranean region and although the numbers are increasing they are still rare visitors to the UK. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.