Scrawny Old Man

By richtoller

I forgot

I forgot my watch for parkrun (but I only use it for final time, pace myself by feel at Camperdown, it's the only way) - feeling strong but not fast I was pleased with a time 6 seconds outside my pb.
I forgot my camera when we went for a walk (but I had my phone).
We forgot our walking poles (snowshoes would have been good too, didn't expect that).
I forgot the map, left it in the car (but I had my phone with OS map on it, and we had a fence to follow).
We went up Mount Blair, a hill we've passed many times between Glenshee and Glen Isla, but this was the first time we've actually been up. First hillwalk for ages too.
Then we went to Drumore Loch, a little loch in a hollow by a minor road. Went there once in spring and there was a big flock of whooper swans all calling musically (winter visitors not left yet), and 3 ospreys flying over it (summer visitors just arrived) - wonderful, I'll never forget that. Today was good in a different way - still completely frozen.

I have only one excuse for forgetting all those things - I'm an old man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.