Daisy days

By PatriciaDoran

Misty Walk

I went for a walk today up in Carrickmines with my sister, brother-in-law and a friend. It's becoming a favourite walk. My blip on 3rd March was taken from the top of the hill on the same walk. It takes about 2 to 2.5 hours and ends in Brady's pub in Shankill - they do a great lunch! As you can see, the weather was NOT inviting - very wet the whole way and a bit cold unless we kept walking, so we did!
On the way down from Carrickmines through Rathmichael we came across this stone cross. I'd never noticed it before. I looked it up when I got home in a book I have on the "Antiquities of Old Rathdown" (Rathdown is the area of south County Dublin and North Wicklow) by Christian Corlett. I discovered that although it's a standard celtic style cross (with the usual circular head and short arms) this one is considered unusual because it has a crucifixion scene on both faces. Apparently it was probably erected as either a boundary marker or a route marker on the path between the churches at Kiltuck and Rathmichael.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.