MissJChong

By MissJChong

Me and me

I remember how when I was younger, I always wished to be older. Because back then, all I could see was how much fun older people had. The freedom, pretty clothes and the ability to decide for themselves.

Now that I am in fact, older, I would give anything to be a kid again. Even for one day. The innocence of a little child is just something I wish I still have.

As time passes, as we experience life, we grow and we lose our innocence. Because life is tough.

But I've come to realized that because life is tough, we should have that innocence. I know this may be confusing and contradicting but I will try to explain my point and hopefully, you'll understand.

As a child, if something bad happened to us, we'd at most, cry and sulk. But after an hour or so, we'd carry on with life and be happy again. That's not the case once we're older. People go into depression, turn to alcohol, drugs, sex and etc just to not feel the pain. Some even turn to suicide. It's as if we lost the ability to forget the pain and move on with life as we grew older. As if its something that came with age.

Hence, I wish that I had the innocence I had when I was younger. This photo really relates to this post as the left part of the photo was hand drawn by a 6 year old girl I met at Newport, RI recently. I've met her two years ago when I was there on a trip and again recently when I went back to visit. When she was drawing me, her concentration and eye for every detail really impressed me. From my hair Colour, to my earring, to the Colour of my eye and skin. To be able to see myself in her innocent eyes was just something I'm thankful I got a chance to experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.