Bustards!

Another very pleasant day. Two sunny dog walks punctuated by lunch with my long lost friend, Gary, at the Mill Tavern in Shottermill. We followed this with an impromptu visit to Haslemere Museum to see their Troy exhibition. Elsewhere in the museum we passed these big birds in a display case and I thought they looked like Great Bustards, although there wasn’t a label to confirm this. Anyway, I looked it up later and it turns out I was right. GBs became extinct in the UK in 1832 when the last one was shot. However, they have recently been reintroduced on Salisbury Plain and there are currently about a hundred of them, I believe.

After the second dog walk, Mr DA and I had a soak in the hot tub. It seems to have helped my backache, so I must do it more regularly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.