Legacy

By Legacy

An Impressive Display

Once again, something unexpected outside the window. 
I get Northern Flickers in my yard frequently but they spook easily and if they see any movement at the window they're gone in an instant.  This fellow was too preoccupied to take off.  At first I thought he was the fattest Northern Flicker in the Pacific Northwest then I realized that he was courting and putting on an impressive display for a lovely lady who was nearby but just out of the frame.  I was delighted that he was way too concerned with impressing her than he was in getting away from me and obligingly stayed where he was long enough for me to take his portrait.  
This is the first I've ever seen of the Northern Flicker mating ritual.  I was very impressed.  I don't know how Miss NF felt about it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.