Football v Pigeon

What a ghastly day. On my way to Coventry, to see the game v Blackburn, a pigeon flew into my windscreen on the motorway, shattering the glass and destroying my rear view mirror. I managed to drive safely to a service station two miles away.

I then spent five hours, on the phone to various organisations, trying to get the car and me back home to be fixed soon. After 19 calls, with the customary recorded messages assuring me just HOW SORRY they were for the delay, interspersed with perky music, the best I could secure was for the car to be taken to a storage facility in Coventry and me to the railway station.

I got a train from there, headed for Manchester. That was “cancelled” at Birmingham. I had to take another train to Tamworth and thence to Manchester, followed by a tram and then a lift home.

11 hours 30 minutes to not watch a 2-2 draw.

The pigeon died, I assume.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.