Jammie Dodger

Luca spent the day with me, as usual on Fridays.  This has been a busy week for Granny duties, being half-term, and also coinciding with some extra commitments for my son, daughter and their partners.  And coinciding with Richard's trip to Larne. So my journal is really focused on the grandkids (even more than usual...)
 
I decided to work a bit harder than usual at portraits of Luca and Frieda, in this context. Often I'm just after a candid shot, capturing the feeling of a moment or an activity.  But at the moment I'm putting the final touches to a photobook for each of them, similar to the one I did for Eben when he was a toddler. So some new shots are needed, for the later pages of each book's chronological sequence.

I like this one of Luca, for its calm, engaged expression. And for the traces of jam on the cheeks, a favourite look for him :-)

It was a quick change act at teatime, as I had a long-term arrangement with Marianna and Jack for Frieda to stay overnight so that they could have a night out with friends.  Ruth, Josh and Eben dropped by to pick Luca up, and went on to the farm at High Riggs, where they planned to stay overnight in the shepherd's hut there. They lost one of the two newborn lambs this week, when the ewe only bonded with one of her twins and the other died overnight. They're determined to keep a close eye on the surviving lamb, as well as on the other ewes in their small flock who are close to giving birth. Luca and Eben both love High Riggs, and a night in the shepherd's hut is an adventure.

Frieda arrived about an hour after Ruth et al had left: just time to eat a small pizza and make up her bed. We had a companionable time together; she was asleep just after 8, and I was in bed not long afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.