Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Speckled Wood

If I've got my ID right, this is a first generation female speckled wood butterfly.  If I've got it wrong you can blame Princeton University Press.  No, don't, they have produced such a brilliant fieldguide to British butterflies they can't possibly have got it wrong and I'm very grateful to them.

This lovely missis is sitting on a greater celandine leaf and the blue behind is green alkanet.  I found her in Clausentum fen today, where I'd rather hoped she might be despite the morning's frost.  It is so sheltered in there.  And the ransoms have started coming into flower, together with blue, pink and white Spanish bluebells, forgetmenots and marsh marigolds.  Very lovely!

Hope your weekend's going well.  A huge thank you for all your good wishes  xx

PS: Just a reminder that WFW22_01 finishes at midnight!  After that we'll be on to WFW22_02.  Results out Tues or Wed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.