JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Inside the kaleidoscope

'Inside the kaleidoscope' sounds like one of three things: the marketing-speak title of my new book, the name of an Oasis track or the rather more prosaic and obvious interpretation of the literal. It's not the first as I don't have a new book (yet, ha!) or the second, but it's a view inside the kaleidoscope that sits on my desk. The kaleidoscope itself is no taller than six inches, Sharpie size, or as we call it professionally, the size of a marker pen. It was a gift, to encourage me to look at it and lose myself for a moment or two in mesmerising colour and shape, offering if not a different perspective then certainly a change of aspect. Was it Lucy who had 'kaleidoscope eyes'? Whole other meaning, but you can see where they were coming from.

We need that I guess, which is a bit rich coming from the likes of me, first day back at work after fourteen off. The kaleidoscope takes me back to my childhood, when although I don't think I owned one, I remember being beguiled by one, hypnotised almost. How's it even possible, I think I may have asked - how come it's so beautiful. You're far too young to remember Jelly Tots as a kid, small chewy fruit pastille sweets in yellow packaging and half a tonne of sugar in every pack. I think the first kaleidoscope was a Jelly Tots one - influenced by branding even then I think. So not only a different perspective, a different memory too. I'm told I called it 'Clyde-oscope' as a kid - a Glasgow thing, but there's the business. 'Clydeoscope' a kaleidoscope with varying views of Glasgow and the river that runs through it. 'Inside the Clydeoscope' then becomes the book behind the business.

I'm looking into it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.