Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Since 1897

You may have noticed that I continue to cycle through my established blip genres. This time it's a classic "grog shot". You know the one. I get a bottle or a glass of whiskey or wine or some such. I then stick a light behind it wrapped in a handkerchief and proceed to fool about for a while, shooting from a variety of angles. I had never noticed the date on a Glen Moray bottle before. I decided it'd look okay as a subject and so that is the title of today's offering.

For good measure this is sort of a dof doodle variety of grog shot in an effort to score a lot of random moody colour impressions all about. I won't say that I didn't touch the dreaded saturation slider though. This time I accidentally (on purpose) gave it a ripe old nudge to the right. Theeeen (of course) I couldn't resist a mono version in extras. 

Sorry but I shall resume my complaining about the quality of renderings on this site. A fella can strive for all sorts of subtlety and acuity in the editing of a picture only to see it washed away once it is posted. Please check this out LARGE if you'd be so kind. There is something about the algorithm here which has always corrupted the standard rendering. Helluva shame. It is also a major reason why people so frequently prefer one's extras to one's main image ... because when they see the extra (unlike the main) it is displayed to advantage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.