Grey Heron

The young one was back on the dovecot waiting for me. As soon as she spotted me she flew over, a bit sticky looking again. She was accompanied by a Crow, I would guess one of the ones from yesterday. I gave the young one her fish and managed to sneak a bit to the crow who polished it off and left.
This afternoon I took up whitebait. As I approached the loch a crow flew towards me and  landed on a sign up ahead of me. I thought nothing of it and passed the sign only to  see the crow take off and land on the loch fence ahead of me. This continued about 3 times as I walked round the loch, until the young one spotted me and wandered over. The crow flew to my right and just stayed there on the fence. When I started feeding the young one the crow jumped down to the ground. I threw it a whitebait and thought it would take a while to eat it. I continued feeding the young one and noticed that the crow had almost swallowed the whitebait and only the tail was protruding from its beak. I threw it a smaller whitebait and it picked it up and flew off. I finished feeding the heron who then flew of to the nest area

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.