campervan man

By campervan

The kids done good

Our current visitors are full on, we seem to be occupied all the time and once they go to bed we are not far behind.
We suggested they had their own growing area in our garden, an idea that went down well. So I selected these two beds (where the old polly tunnel used to be) and they selected how far along them they wanted. They chose to go much further than I anticipated but never mind its their project.
Job one clear the weeds. Only the normal weeds growing in an an unused bed but the ground was very dry and they were not used to doing this type of thing. So slow but done eventually. I provided helpful advise while sitting on a stool in the doorway of the greenhouse out of the wind. 
To help I dug over both beds once they finished for the day.
Job two was to break down the soil so it was usable for seed planting. Various tools employed but a hammer might have been more use in some places. I provided guidance from the stool again, I am sure they appreciated it.
Job three was to decide what to plant and to plant them. I had some left over potatoes that had good shoots on them so they were chosen along with beans, carrots, cauliflower and various salad items but not tomatoes for some unknown reason. I was more hands on with this part, explaining drills and seed distribution and why some had to be planted in pots whilst others went into the ground directly. They were impressed with grandads knowledge (kids are easily fooled)
Job four. Water in the seeds. They had a hose pipe. I stayed well clear.
Job five was to paint the signs. The kids built the signs and painted them. I made a serious error at this point of the project as I had forgotten how emulsion paint is attracted to cloths and, in Jacobs case, shoes. Fortunately my frantic and increasingly desperate efforts paid off and I finally cleaned everything up.
All that was left was the great unveiling. Parent's and grandmother were very impressed and heaped praise on both children.
Of course the kids are not here very often so its down to me to ensure things grow. A whole world of new problems had just occurred to me, what if they don't grow, worse still what if one side does and the other doesn't. Recipe for unhappy grandchildren and I know who will get the blame

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.