Here They Come

My Dear Princess and Dear Friends,

I spent half of today tidying the house. Not because Caro is due back. that would be Monday. 

Today I invited Shenée, Craig, Manda, Jefe and Corrie around to watch "Ready or Not" projected onto the wall, and because I am me I also went way overboard and turned the living room into a drive-in movie with B-movie posters scrolling on the tv while "Science Fiction Double Feature" played on my phone.

There was also a quiz which involved Jefe and Corrie taking each other on in doing English accents. They both tried very hard and I gave them bonus points for effort. 

They really seemed to enjoy themselves and there was talk of our opening our own pub and having quiz night every night which of course will never happen but this is what happens when we drink. 

Jasper, as usual, provided comic relief. He sat at the top of his cat tree and whacked anyone who passed him by without giving him due attention. Manda complied - which is sensible. But Jefe ran away, claiming he was "scared" of my assertive kitty. 

Of course, the main event was the movie itself, projected onto the wall and preceded by previews, intermission ads* and a warning not to get too affectionate in your car**. 

This is a family show, folks. 

I also found an 8-minute Jurassic World mini-movie that I guess they must have put out as a DVD extra on "Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom". That is not the point. The point is that Shenée had never seen it and so we all got to enjoy her talking to the onscreen dinosaurs causing mayhem.

"Boo-boo! Good girl! Goooood girl!!"

Shenée LOVES dinosaurs.

So we watched the big movie and ate pizza and Manda found a "Ready or Not" drinking game in which:

- You take a drink every time Aunt Helene scowls.
- You take a drink every time Grace's dress rips.
- You take a drink every time Emily does drugs
- Two drinks whenever someone dies

That's a lot of drinking. I'm not sure I kept up.  

It was all wrapped up by about 10 which I know is late for Shenée and Craig - and since they were designated drivers for everybody that meant I found myself alone again by 10:30.

That was actually quite nice. Also, they tidied up on their way out. We are the most civilised partygoers ever.

So now I am alone in a tidy house with two cats. I think tomorrow will be a quiet one.

S.

 * I included two Orange adverts from the early 2000's which obviously these guys have never seen. They are still funny.

** "Public displays of affections are NOT tolerated in this theater - 'nuff said?" Went the announcement. "I'm looking at YOU here Craig!" I said and he replied, "Fine with me" as he edged away from his grabby partner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.