KateBushIsCool

By KateBushIsCool

Happy happy joy joy!

This evening I found out that George has been given a place at the local school in September. It was my first choice but it is so massively oversubscribed that I really didn't know if he'd get in or not, even though we live so bloody close (about 260 metres)! It's just a huge weight off my mind. It also makes me feel better about the flat we live in. I always said the location was more important than the flat itself and it has really worked out well.

Plus the flat isn't that bad. I do moan! Anyway, I feel so lucky. Plenty of parents don't get any of their choices and around here you have to give six! I can't tell if that is because parents put down schools that are just too far away or if they just happen to live in a really unfortunate 'blackspot' - just slightly out of the catchment for each school.

I know I've been sucked in by league tables and Ofsted reports and the main thing is that your child makes friends and likes the environment. And learns to read and write! But I just liked the school so much when I visited it and it felt so friendly and happy. Hoorah! (check the really bad happy person doodle on my hand)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.