View from my balcony....

Robinson College, Cambridge, was built in 1977 with a gift from the philanthropist Sir David Robinson - one of the largest gifts ever recorded in the history of the University. It was the only Cambridge College custom built for the purpose of accommodating undergraduates and post graduates of both genders.

Designed by the Scottish architectural firm Gillespie, Kidd & Coia, Robinson's main buildings are distinctive for the generous use of red bricks in their construction. In November 2008 the College was named in the "50 most inspiring buildings in Britain" by The Daily Telegraph. Of particular note are the library and chapel, the latter with stained-glass windows designed by John Piper.

It's so busy up at Westminster that I have been boarded out - which is fine since the facilities are mega comfortable. As indeed they will be at Westminster after the £7 million refurb.

For the avoidance of doubt - when I called Westminster yesterday my favourite College I meant CAMBRIDGE College.... Other Colleges in my area of responsibility are of course equally loved!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.